He Is | I Am – Day 43

I Am The True Vine

1 “I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. 2 Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit. 3 Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you. 4 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. 5 I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing

(John 15:1-5 ESV)

Read:

Grape vines are interesting. They creep up a trellis and make a big, intricate, knotted mess of branches, leaves and vine that is sometimes hard to make sense of. In that mess of branches, some are broken and separated from the vine. Sometimes it’s difficult to tell those from the connected branches.

The one time you can always tell the living branches from the dead ones is when the fruit comes. There is no fruit on a disconnected branch because the branch gets its life from the vine.

Our relationship to Jesus is life giving and vital.

Pray:

Jesus, draw me close to you today. Help me to stay connected to you in every circumstance. I tend to wander away from you, but I need you to keep me. Let me draw life from my relationship with you.

Study:

arrows-1

  1. What picture does Jesus use to describe our relationship to him?
  2. What does Jesus say we are to do?
  3. What is the result of abiding in Jesus?
