He Is | I Am – Day 27

I Am The Good Shepherd

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I
came that they may have life and have it abundantly. 11 I am
the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for
the sheep. 12 He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd,
who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves
the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters
them. 13 He flees because he is a hired hand and cares noth-
ing for the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd. I know my own
and my own know me, 15 just as the Father knows me and I
know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 And I
have other sheep that are not of this fold. I must bring them
also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock,
one shepherd
(John 10:10-16 ESV)

Read:

My wife and I have gotten much better at communicating.

For many, the first year of marriage is difficult simply because you’re spending a good portion of that time trying to learn to
communicate effectively! Thankfully, with a lot of time and patience, you eventually learn to understand and respond (for the most part) correctly to your spouse’s spoken and unspoken requests.

The same is true of Jesus! You see, a shepherd at that time would spend days, months and years with the sheep. They
would get to know the ‘personalities’ and needs of each sheep, along with their different cries and noises. When one
sheep needed something, the shepherd would hear and respond.

Jesus is the good shepherd. He knows your voice and understands your need.

Pray:

We have spent a lot of time with this passage this week. Take a couple minutes to talk to Jesus about whatever comes
to mind. It doesn’t have to be a long prayer. Just be real and open.

Study:

  1. How would you pray if you knew you had an enemy?
  2. What would you pray if you believed Jesus was listening?
  3. How would you pray if you knew Jesus understood you?
