He Is | I Am – Day 26

I Am The Good Shepherd

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I
came that they may have life and have it abundantly. 11 I am
the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for
the sheep. 12 He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd,
who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves
the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters
them. 13 He flees because he is a hired hand and cares noth-
ing for the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd. I know my own
and my own know me, 15 just as the Father knows me and I
know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 And I
have other sheep that are not of this fold. I must bring them
also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock,
one shepherd
(John 10:10-16 ESV)

Read:

I was always a shy child. The thought of being put in a room
full of new people was enough to paralyze me! It wasn’t that I
didn’t like those people; I just didn’t know them. Back-to-
School season or Sunday school promotion was full of anxiety
for me because I knew I was about to meet a whole bunch of
new people.

But things never were as bad as I expected. Because once I
got into the classroom, I learned it wasn’t about me! Most of
the time, the other kids were looking at the teacher. We were
in their class, and we were their students. Because it wasn’t
about me, I was freed of a lot of anxiety. Eventually, I could
even make some friends.

When things are centered on Jesus, we are free to relate to
the people around us without having to perform for them!

Pray:

Jesus, this is all about you. When I make my life, my rela-
tionships and my world all about me, it is too much for me to
handle. Help me to live a life that is not all about me! Let me
love, give and serve those around me as a reflection of you
and the love you have shown me.

Study:

  1. How do we learn to live in peace with others?
  2. How does it change us to know that Jesus is not just MY shepherd, but also OUR shepherd?
  3. How does Jesus make us able to welcome others?
