He Is | I Am – Day 25

I Am The Good Shepherd

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I
came that they may have life and have it abundantly. 11 I am
the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for
the sheep. 12 He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd,
who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves
the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters
them. 13 He flees because he is a hired hand and cares noth-
ing for the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd. I know my own
and my own know me, 15 just as the Father knows me and I
know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 And I
have other sheep that are not of this fold. I must bring them
also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock,
one shepherd
(John 10:10-16 ESV)

Read:

Trust is a valuable commodity. The longer you live, the more
valuable trust is! If you haven’t yet been hurt by anyone, con-
gratulations! But I would advise you not to get too comfortable
with that status, because disappointment is inevitable.

Along with the value of trust, appreciation for those you
trust grows with time. The longer you do life with trustworthy
people, the more you come to depend on them and draw
strength from their presence! The thing is, no one other than
Jesus has a perfect track record. One way or another, we all
fall short.

Jesus is the good shepherd who never breaks trust.

Pray:

Jesus, I trust you today. You have never made a promise you
haven’t kept. You’ve never left me alone when I needed you.
And I know that, as I go through my day, you are beside me,
watching out for me.

Study:

  1. What does Jesus say we will do if we are his sheep?
  2. Why is it sometimes difficult to accept others who are following Jesus?
  3. The flock gets its identity from the _________________!
