He Is | I Am – Day 24

I Am The Good Shepherd

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I
came that they may have life and have it abundantly. 11 I am
the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for
the sheep. 12 He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd,
who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves
the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters
them. 13 He flees because he is a hired hand and cares noth-
ing for the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd. I know my own
and my own know me, 15 just as the Father knows me and I
know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 And I
have other sheep that are not of this fold. I must bring them
also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock,
one shepherd
(John 10:10-16 ESV)

Read:

Let’s be real, no one likes being called a sheep. In the
world we live in, we would much prefer to be a lion than to be a
sheep. Sheep are not the most impressive animal and, worst
of all, they are defenseless. Lions aren’t afraid; they are
feared. Lions can take care of themselves. And that is exactly
why we are called sheep.

If we’re really being honest, we have to admit that there are
many things in the world that are bigger than us. There are
many situations we cannot control. Too often, we find our-
selves unable to change the world around us. We’re more like
sheep than we care to admit. But we are not defenseless.

Jesus is our good shepherd who protects us.

Pray:

Jesus, when I’m really honest, I know I am less powerful
than I act. I try my best to look like I have everything together.
Truth be told, there are so many things beyond my control. I
need you to be my shepherd today. Let me know that you are
greater than anything that I face. Show me that in you, I am
secure.

Study:

  1. Why do people generally dislike being called “sheep”?
  2. What point is Jesus making by calling us “sheep”?
  3. What does a shepherd do for the sheep?
