He Is | I Am – Day 23

He Is I Am – Devotional

I Am The Good Shepherd

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I
came that they may have life and have it abundantly. 11 I am
the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for
the sheep. 12 He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd,
who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves
the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters
them. 13 He flees because he is a hired hand and cares noth-
ing for the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd. I know my own
and my own know me, 15 just as the Father knows me and I
know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 And I
have other sheep that are not of this fold. I must bring them
also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock,
one shepherd
(John 10:10-16 ESV)

Read:

Think back over your life for a second and think about the
best friend you’ve ever had. What was it that made them such
a good friend? Was it that you liked the same movies? Maybe
it was a shared hobby that drew you together! While I’m sure
those things may have played a part in the formation of the
relationship, they aren’t what sustained the relationship.

Mutual interests and hobbies do not get you through the
inevitable difficulties of a long-lasting relationship. The stuff
that gets you through is knowing and caring for one another.
That is the glue that makes a relationship work. And Jesus of-
fers both.

Jesus knows and cares for you. And his people know and
care for him.

Pray:

Jesus, I want to be real with you today. My best relation-
ships are the ones where I don’t need to pretend to be any-
thing I am not. And I know I cannot fool you, so help me not to
try. Help me to know you as well as you know me.

Study:

  1. How much does God care for us?
  2. What would it be like to completely known and
    accepted?
  3. When Jesus calls, do we see it as an invitation or a
    judgment?
