He Is | I Am – Day 22

I Am The Good Shepherd

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. 11 I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. 12 He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd, who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them. 13 He flees because he is a hired hand and cares noth- ing for the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, 15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 And I have other sheep that are not of this fold. I must bring them also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock, one shepherd

(John 10:10-16 ESV)

Read:

Shepherding has never been a glamorous job. When Israel first moved into Egypt, the Bible says they were despised be- cause “every shepherd is an abomination to the Egyptians” (Genesis 46:34). They were rough people more accustomed to nights in the open than with polite company.

Despite being a little rough around the edges, shepherds were caretakers. In fact, the kings of Israel were often referred to as “shepherds” over God’s people. They were to provide and protect, leading the people in worship and service to God. Too often, personal ambition took over and instead of serving, the kings demanded service.

Jesus is a different and better king. One who serves to the point of giving his own life.

Pray:

Jesus, I need a good shepherd today. I need someone to guide and care for me. I know that you are invested in my eter- nal welfare and I trust you to lead me today.

Study:

  1. Reread verse 12-13, have you ever known anyone who fit that description?
  2. Jesus says, “I know my own,” how would that have been received? 
  3. When Jesus said, “I have other sheep that are not of this fold,” what would his audience have thought? 
