He Is | I Am – Day 19

I Am The Door

“Truly, truly, I say to you, he who does not enter the sheep- fold by the door but climbs in by another way, that man is a thief and a robber. 2 But he who enters by the door is the shepherd of the sheep. 3 To him the gatekeeper opens. The sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. 4 When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. 5 A stranger they will not follow, but they will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.” 6 This figure of speech Jesus used with them, but they did not understand what he was saying to them. 7 So Jesus again said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. 8 All who came before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them. 9 I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture

(John 10:1-9 ESV)

Read

Most of us are really good with lists. We like lists because they serve as a metric to help us gauge our progress. Often this desire for a metric finds its way into the Christian life. We like to know how we are doing so we develop a metric. Too often, we use it to judge others as well!

Jesus forces us to do away with metrics. When we truly understand that I am welcome and accepted only through Christ, the metrics seem silly. The playing field has been leveled. The invitation that has been extended to us is not based on our own merit, but was made possible only through Jesus.

No one is too far for grace to reach them and no one is good enough to not need grace.

Pray

Jesus, help me to see people as you do. Give me the courage to tell them that you have invited them to experience salvation. We are invited in only because of the cross. Allow this understanding to change the way I see and relate to oth- ers.

Study

image

  1. Why are we so tempted to compare ourselves to others? 
  2. How does understanding Jesus to be the Gate change the way we compare ourselves to others? 
  3. Have you been guilty of assuming that some are too far from God for grace to reach them? 
  4. How can you be more intentional about telling those around you that Jesus is the Gate and He is inviting them just as they are? 
