He Is I Am – Day 14

I Am The Light Of The World

12 Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” 13 So the Pharisees said to him, “You are bearing witness about yourself; your testimony is not true.” 14 Jesus answered, “Even if I do bear witness about myself, my testimony is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going.

(John 8:12-14)

Read:

I don’t like asking for help. And I don’t like trusting others to help me. When I was young, maybe 11 or 12, I went camping with some friends and an adult chaperone. To get to our camp site, we had to walk through a corn field.

As we were making our way through the field, a few of us got a little turned around. It was late in the summer, and the corn was tall. Much taller than any of us. Except for the adult. While we were convinced that it was our fate to be lost for days on the backside of nowhere, our chaperone knew exactly where we were and where we were going. It took a good while before I decided to ask him where we were headed, and even then I wasn’t sure he really knew. But because of his higher perspective and greater experience, I could ultimately trust his answer to my questions.

You can trust Jesus when situations feel bigger than you.

Pray:

We have spent a lot of time with this passage this week. Take a couple minutes to talk to Jesus about whatever comes to mind. It doesn’t have to be a long prayer. Just be real and open.

Study:

  1. If Jesus comes looking for us, why are we reluctant to spend time with him?
  2. Why do we sometimes go long stretches of time without praying?
  3. What areas of your life could use some light? 
