He Is I Am – Day 13

I Am The Light Of The World

12 Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” 13 So the Pharisees said to him, “You are bearing witness about yourself; your testimony is not true.” 14 Jesus answered, “Even if I do bear witness about myself, my testimony is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going.

(John 8:12-14 ESV)

Read:

“To be loved but not known is comforting but superficial. To be known and not loved is our greatest fear. But to be fully known and truly loved is, well, a lot like being loved by God. It is what we need more than anything. It liberates us from pre- tense, humbles us out of our self-righteousness, and fortifies us for any difficulty life can throw at us.” – Tim Keller, The Meaning of Marriage

In Jesus, we are both fully known and fully loved

Pray:

Lord, some days I am tempted to hide. I want to put forward an image rather than a reality in the hopes that others will love and accept me. Today, help me to rest in the knowledge that you both know me and love me. Completely and without fail or exception. Help me to accept that I am accepted.

Study:

1. How does your attitude change when you feel secure?

2. How does your acceptance by Jesus change how you relate to others?

3. How can we work toward this type of relationship with others? 

