He Is I Am – Day 12

I Am The Light Of The World

John 8:12-14 

12 Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” 13 So the Pharisees said to him, “You are bearing witness about yourself; your testimony is not true.” 14 Jesus answered, “Even if I do bear witness about myself, my testimony is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going.

(John 8:12-14 ESV)

Read:

When it comes to driving, there seem to be two kinds of leaders. The first type is the “let’s see if they can keep up with me” leader. I confess, I tend to be this kind of leader. Some- thing comes over me and I want to make the very best time finding the most efficient route through traffic, and I dare oth- ers to ride my vapor trail to a gloriously short trip.

Then there is the other kind of leader. The “we’ll get there, and we will get there together” leader. This leader will slow down at a green light because it might turn to yellow. They will pull over and wait if someone gets stopped in traffic or too many cars get between them and the group. Jesus is more this kind of leader.

Yes, Jesus calls us to follow him. Yes, the road is sometimes (maybe even often!) difficult. And yes, sometimes we get sepa- rated by delays and distractions. But Jesus doesn’t leave us to fend for ourselves. He is watching out for us, and he is patient with us.

Jesus is a leader who watches out for his followers

Pray:

Lord, thank you for calling me to follow you. In you I have found life, meaning, acceptance and purpose. You lead me into a brighter future not only for me, but for the world around me. Sometimes, I have a hard time following. Help me today to follow you with every step I take.

Study:

1. In the gospels, Jesus invitation is always simple. What is the invitation here?

2. The pharisees disbelieved Jesus. What should our re- sponse be?

3. As one who has been received the “light of life,” how should we treat those who do not yet follow Jesus? 

