He Is | I Am – Day 10

I Am The Light Of The World

12 Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” 13 So the Pharisees said to him, “You are bearing witness about yourself; your testimony is not true.” 14 Jesus answered, “Even if I do bear witness about myself, my testimony is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going.

(John 8:12-14 ESV)

Read:

Have you ever had a broken relationship? Something was done or something was said and a wedge was driven between you and the other person. From that time forward, every time you saw that person or ran into them socially, things were weird. The same has happened in our relationship with God.

The first chapter of John tells us that Jesus is God’s plan of reconciliation. When we were lost in darkness, God launched a rescue mission. And in Jesus, he finds us where we are to bring us to where he is.

Jesus is God’s plan to reconcile us to himself.

Pray:

Jesus, I recognize my shortcomings and faults. I know those faults often get in the way of our relationship. Help me to rest in the knowledge that you seek reconciliation with me more than I do with you. Help me to accept your offer of grace, forgiveness and acceptance today. 

Study:

image

1. How can we see God’s faithfulness in this passage?

2. What does the phrase “light of life” mean to you?

3. Read John 1:1-14. Where did Jesus come from?

4. What was Jesus’ destination? 

