He Is | I Am – Day 9

I Am The Light Of The World

12 Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” 13 So the Pharisees said to him, “You are bearing witness about yourself; your testimony is not true.” 14 Jesus answered, “Even if I do bear witness about myself, my testimony is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going.

(John 8:12-14 ESV)

Read:

God said, “Let there be light. And there was light.”

God’s first act of creation was to illuminate. Throughout the scriptures, God is described as being a “light”. He is seen as dwelling in “unapproachable light” and where God is, there is no darkness. In the tabernacle and the temple, God’s pres- ence was signified in the menorah, or lampstand. Even the Psalmist said that God himself was “my light and my salvation.”

Jesus has come as Immanuel, God with us.

Pray:

Jesus, today I need you to go with me. Be the presence of God in my every day life. Let me know you are beside me at work, in my car and at home. You are as present with me today as you are on Sunday. Help me to be aware of you throughout my day. 

Study:

image

  1. What would Jesus’ audience thought of when he said, “I am the light of the world”?

  2. Light was symbolic of the presence of God. What was Jesus claiming here?

  3. How did the original audience respond to Jesus’ claim? 

