He Is | I Am – Day 8

I Am The Light of The World

12 Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” 13 So the Pharisees said to him, “You are bearing witness about yourself; your testimony is not true.” 14 Jesus answered, “Even if I do bear witness about myself, my testimony is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going.

(John 8:12-14 ESV)

Read:

Growing up, I loved to go camping. Whether it was with family, friends or my Boy Scout troop, I was always up for an adventure. There was something about setting up a tent, building a fire and breaking out the cast iron that always put me in a good mood.

As soon as we arrived, it was time to gather fire wood. And I loved it. I got to use my hatchet or machete to hack my way through the wild, untamed forest in search of supplies. And then I would drag my trophies back to camp for that night’s fire. And I never got enough.

At some point, after dark, I would have to go back into the woods. And it was terrifying. Branches became arms trying to grab me, holes became snares and logs became hurdles. With no light, I had no way of navigating my way safely in and out of camp.

Jesus promises to be our light, so that we will not walk in darkness and confusion.

Pray:

Jesus, help me to hear what you are saying today. Be a light in my world. Help me to follow you at work, in my relationships and in my choices. Be with me today as a light on path. 

Study:

image

1. Who is Jesus talking to?
2. What does Jesus say about himself?
3. What does Jesus say about his followers?
4. What problem do his hearers have with him? 

