He Is | I Am – Day 6

I Am The Bread of Life

35 Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. 36 But I said to you that you have seen me and yet do not believe. 37 All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out. 38 For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of him who sent me. 39 And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has giv- en me, but raise it up on the last day. 40 For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day

(John 6:35-40 ESV)

Read: 

Like so many kids in the Midwest, I played little league football as a child. One particular game stands out in my mind. A teammate and I converged on a quarterback and tackled him for a loss of yards. When we got up after the play, he stayed down. In fact, he was down for several minutes before they carried him off the field. In a moment I have relived many times since, several of my teammates and I cheered when we saw that he was injured. It was foolish. We were kids, but that was inexcusable. We had let competition become the ultimate thing. We knew that the only way for us to win was for him to lose, and we had ensured that.

Jesus is offering a world where there is plenty for all. No one loses when another gains! My blessing does not come at your expense! Jesus has provided more than we could ever need. Rather than being in competition, we are in community.

Jesus is more than enough for all people everywhere

Pray:

Jesus, help me to see that you are more than enough. Let me be content in my relationship to you and others. Help me to recognize that I am not competing for your love or blessing, but that you have more resources than anyone has needs. 

Study:

image

1. How many people does Jesus provide for?
2. Why do we find a need to compete with others?
3. How does Jesus put our competitiveness to rest? 

